People’s Shujaaz Awards

Celebrating Parliamentarians that have championed issues of great public interest both at the National Assembly and the Senate in 2019

Mzalendo Trust is pleased to announce the 2019 winners People’s Shujaaz Award. Initiated in 2014, the People Shujaa’s Awards seek to honor Members of Parliament who champion public interest issues on the floor of the House at both the National Assembly and the Senate. Announced a day before Jamhuri Day, the Awards are meant to complement the National Honours the Presidency bestows on Kenyans for exemplary service to the country every year.

The 2019 People’s Shujaaz Awards saw a total of six out of the nine awards go to women MPs recording the highest number of female winners since inception. The list of 24 nominees had a 50:50 gender ratio with a total of 17 being first timers in Parliament.

Through these awards, we hope to continue motivating MPs to keep pushing for progressive and impactful legislation and resultantly inspire the citizenry to adequately hold them to account in executing their constitutional mandate. It is our belief that the recognition and citizen choices will continue to catalyze members of parliament to develop legislation that serves the larger public interest and good. We are proud to reveal the names of Members of Parliament who were voted by citizens as People’s Shujaaz, 2019 edition.

Voting ran from 30th November to 11th December 2019.

Scroll down for finalists

or revisit finalists from 2018

Supported by