Places Overview

The Electoral Divisions of Kenya

There are several levels of administrative geographical divisions within Kenya that are significant in the electoral process. These, and their associated elected officials are listed here.

First, there are 47 counties (based upon the per-1992 divisions of Kenya) each with an elected governor to oversee its affairs. In addition, each county also elects a Women Representative and a Senator to represent them in the National Assembly and Senate respectively.

Secondly, Kenya has 290 constituencies represented in Parliament by elected Member of National Assembly/ (MP).

Thirdly, the country has 1450 wards each represented by a County Representative in the County Assemblies.