Election Legislation

In late 2011, Parliament enacted three key legislation to govern the conduct of General Elections. The Election Act 2011 defines the conduct of elections to the office of President, the National Assembly, the Senate, County Governor and County Assembly and election disputes resolution. Parliament also put in place legislation to establish an Independent Election and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to oversee the elections process and boundaries delimitation. The other important legislation instituted was the Political Parties Act to guide their registration and funding in the lead up to elections and thereafter.

For more information, please use the below links to download PDF documents